Barack Obama’s speech to the Muslim world

by britishmisk

It’s been a while since I posted anything so I have updated with the lesson 3 and 4 of Shama’il al-Muhamadiyya taught by Sheikh Muhammad al-Yaqoubi down below.

I also wanted to post this up:

The global online Muslim world has been quite split over Barack Obama, generally Muslims are pessimistic about everything and President Obama is no exception. Abdal Qadir as-Sufi wrote an article about his speech and began by saying he is not a very good speaker. Needless to say I didn’t really bother continuing it after the first few paragraphs seeing as even Obama’s most ardent opponents are unanimous that his oratory skills are impeccable.

But there have been (Somewhat surprisingly) a number of Muslim voices who have been supportive of Obama. Imam Zaid Shakir and Suhaib Webb being two examples. Ever since I heard about Obama on H. Ahmed’s blog he has always come across to me as a decent human being, and as his presidential campaign gained speed it only reaffirmed my assumptions. For me personally this speech stated everything I wanted to hear from a US president regarding his foreign policy towards the Muslim world.

One thing in particular that was important was his statement that democracy cannot work everywhere in the world, as long as a nation has a governmental system that respects basic human rights the US is [theoretically] willing to accept it. So there is a possibility that if during President Obama’s presidency the Caliphate were to be reestablished, or an Islamic state with real Shar’iah (None of that phoney-baloney Taliban/Saudi inspired stuff) that the US could possibly accept it. Which is a good thing.

I know this almost a month overdue, I began writing it before I left for Andalucia and Morocco. Look out for reflections on my journey soon.

