Book Review: “And the Mountains Echoed” by Khaled Hosseini

by britishmisk

Image

 

Previously on this blog I’ve mentioned how after trying my hand at reading fiction for a while I decided it wasn’t really for me. An exception from that opinion were the two novels by Khaled Hosseini, “The Kite Runner” and “A Thousand Splendid Suns”, both of which were novels I thoroughly enjoyed reading, and it was with much enthusiasm I waited for his next novel, which came out last month: “And the Mountains Echoed”.

There are no surprises in that the novel is based mainly around Aghanis and Afghanistan. The core of Hosseini’s previous novels was the exploration of human emotions, especially within the context of modern Afghanistan and how it has affected its people, and the same can be said of the new novel. The difference here is that rather than having a main protagonist, the story revolves around the lives of many disparate people, who are in some way or another connected to two siblings who were separated when they were children, Abdullah and Pari.

As can be expected this is an intensely emotional read, I found it personally more so than his previous novels. As the life story of each character unfolds we come to see their pains and joys, and the regrets one has to live with just by having to lead a life and deal with the decisions we choose to make.

If somebody hasn’t read his previous books I would definitely encourage you to do so, and for those who have read them they would not be disappointed with this one.

